YAB or Yet Another Blog is what i would like to call it. With millions of people blogging away, one is left to wonder – who on earth reads my ramblings 🙂

In any case, i am one more in the pool of random ramblers whiling away my time instead of doing something useful (which is pretty subjective anyway).

45 thoughts on “About

    • Sorry, I don’t have any if his recordings; the only one I have is a duet of Lalgudi Jayaraman and Doraswamy Iyengar. I will try posting it in the near future.

  1. Namaskaram Sri Shankar

    Thank you for your wonderful uploads.Special thanks for the MSG Sir Thodi. I am wondering if you are Shankar from Delhi… B/o of Meera … Radha Mami’s son??? You may not remember …Have fond memories from 70s… I am hoping I connected the right dots here 🙂 …
    Thank you once again for the wonderful recordings.


  2. I would like to have the mp3 (downloadable) of ALL the songs of Dr.Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer. Kindly do the needful.

    I like him very much (in fact He is the Best for me, if is Carnatic Music, though I dont know anything about Carnatic Music)

      • Dear Sir, It’s so nice of you to be sharing all these recordings.. I tried to download one of the files as you mentioned.. The file name shows up as ‘https://archive.org/embed/013LGJSrimatiUKS’ and when I use that link, the audio file shows up but right clicking on it doesn’t give me any option to ‘save the audio as’.. it just says ‘powered by JW player’..

      • I have not looked at the comments for a while and hence the delayed reply.
        On the player strip, you see an icon with 4 vertical pillars; click on that and you will be taken to the archive.org page for that recording. On the right side you will see a list of files and a link ‘Show All’; click on that link and you will see a list of files listed on a new page. You should click on the file with the extension “.mp3” and it will download the file for you.
        Hope this helps.

  3. Thank you for uploading some excellent musical pieces/concerts . As a request , it would be nice if you can upload some recordings of Ustad Rashid Khan, Ustad Nazakat and UstadSalamat Ali Khan and Pt. Ajoy chakraborty. Thanks

      • Thank you for the quick update. It seems to affect only some concerts (for eg. KVN concerts work on chrome). Great collection!! Have really enjoyed these concerts.

      • The recordings uploaded to archive.org in the recent past are the ones that are impacted. Did not get much help from the forum too 😦

  4. You are providing us with a treasure of CM by Stalwarts. Extremely happy in enjoying your huge collection.Earlier I had enjoyed MDR & DKJ’s concerts.Now I’m just hooked to MMI’s concerts.Quality of recording is excellent and we feel as though we are in a Sabha enjoying these concerts.As rasikas we immensely thank you for this novel gesture. Looking forward to many,many more uploads.Wish you all the Very Best and with kind regards,VS Manjunath

  5. Hi Shankar:

    You are doing an excellent job in posting the full concerts. Could you please contact me by E-mail?

  6. In the first concert of K.S. Gopalakrishnan, the Hamsanandi track does not seem to be a thillana. I think it is Eru Mayil – Arunagirinathar.

    Following Eru Mayil, he plays Bhagyada Lakshmi Baramma before concluding with managlam.

    I welcome guests’ comments.

  7. In K.S. Gopalakrishnan’s second US concert, Pahi Jagajjanani sounds iike Pahi Mam Jagajjanani. I listened to the same krithi by Kudamloor Janardhanan and he also plays likewise.

    By the way, Gopalaka Pahimam is missing in the second US concert of KGS.

  8. In K.S. Gopalakrishnan’s second US concert, the second song sounds like Gajavadana Karuna, rather than Ini Oru Kanam. Any comments? I could be wrong.

  9. In K.S. Gopalakrishnan’s fifth concert (4 hours and 27 minutes), the varnam does not sound like Kambodhi to me. I think it is Nata by either Swathi Thirunal or Paramewara Bhagavatar..

    • Yes; I used the notes that came with the recording which was clearly wrong; I must not have heard it while posting over here 😦

  10. In Voleti’s concert number 15 (LGJ and Guruvayur Dorai – 2:33:00), the krithi ‘Maragadavallim – Varali’ should read as ‘Marakata mani varna rama nanu maravaka nyayama – Varali – Saint Thyagaraja’.

    The Krithi ‘Marakathavalleem’ is in Kambhoji, composed by Muthuswami Dikshitar.

  11. In Voleti’s concert number 27, ‘Kelati Mamahrrdaye’ should read as ‘Khelati Brahmande’. Raga is Sindhubhairavi. Composer is Sadasiva Brahmendra.

  12. Again, in Voleti’s concert 33 (assorted set), Sri Venugopala is in Kurinji, not Kedaragowla. The composer is Muthuswami Dikshitar.

  13. Sir namaste.

    In TNS section and few other sections it says “secure connection failed” inspire of loading it in Firefox .

    I request you to kindly look into this and solve it to enable us to listen to these beautiful concert.

    Thanks in advance


    • Please use Firefox for these; Chrome and Archive as a combo had a problem in the upload process for a period causing this problem; I will try addressing this problem sometime by uploading these concerts all over again.

    • Thanks for notifying me. I did not see this error when I viewed immediately after the post.
      It appears that two of the tracks hosted on archive.org are being determined as a security issue by Chrome. FireFox does not complain however !!
      I have removed the reference to the two tracks for now.

  14. NO MORE YAB (Yet another blog) Kudos to your efforts in maintaining and updating this blog. I have been generally following your posts sporadically. Heartwarming to see the periodic additions. Your blog is now an institution in itself and not just one of those blogs.

  15. Hari Om,

    I came across this blog while searching for Volerti. I really admire your work. Please add concerts of Pinakapani Sir if have any.

    Thank you.


  16. Delighted to see your uploads .As an avid music lover these are treasures .Somu is a favourite of mine besides ,GNB,Alathur ,MMI ,Semmangudi,KVN ,MS,MLV,DKP and so many others .Any concert of Somu you could upload ?

Leave a Reply to Sriram Raman Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s